A look back at the best (and not so best) of 2013

With just two days left in 2013, I thought I would take a minute to reflect back on the year. It was a whirlwind for me. This year brought lots of new and different into my life, but as promised it was all for the best.

We rang in the New Year with samba-style with our family in Brazil. It was the second time that we had been there, the first being our wedding. There is something magical about family, even family that you have only met a couple times. We ate too much, laughed a lot, and spent the kind of quality time together that families rarely get to spend these days. I would say it was the perfect new beginning.

New Years Eve Brazil

We had barely settled our feet firmly on American soil before we were off again. This time it was a more permanent move. With the help of many friends and family members, we loaded up the moving van and set out of for a 14-hour trip to place we know call home: San Antonio. Moving across country is scary, and I have learned to appreciate what it must be like for military families that get relocated every couple of years. It’s one of those things that require planning, patience, and above all…faith. Another thing that I acquired in 2013.

Driving through Nebraska

Moving to a new city, brought lots of new experiences. It took longer than I thought it would to find a new teaching position, but I made the most of the “time off” by starting this blog!, meeting up with other amazing bloggers and their amazing kiddos, and spending quality time with my family that was long overdue. I was lucky to be able to stay home with my youngest. I don’t know if I’ll ever have that opportunity again, and I cherished creativity I was able to bring to his learning. We raced through letters, did an Alphabet Scavenger Hunt, and spent time in the pool playing word games with beach balls.

2013 Kids Collage

We enjoyed visits from many friends and family this year (and look forward to all of the friends and family that have yet to visit!) This summer my friends Kate and Jeanne-Marie came up this summer and spent several days. We were able to hit all of the landmarks: the Alamo, the Riverwalk, Enchanted Rock. We also spent some quality time by the pool.

Alamo Riverwalk

We were fortunate have my husband’s parents and sister from Brazil. The kids are lucky to have such a loving family spread out of over the world! While they were here, we enjoyed some Pho that we accidentally discovered thanks to one of our neighbors.

2013 Pho

I also found a some time to sneak in a couple crafting projects and try out some new recipes. I made a couple cute teachers gifts, like coffee cozies and lanyards. (I’m busy making more lanyards for teachers over Christmas break!) My daughter has been wearing this adorable dress ever since I revamped it. I’m lucky to have a wonderfully, crafty mother in law that shows me all of the tricks of the trade when she comes to visit. We always end up with an array of handmade goodies!

2013 Crafts

I could say that I spent more time in the kitchen in 2013 than years past. I always have the goal of learning how to really cook. T’his year I think I came closer than I ever have in the past! I found some great recipe and even created a few of my own. Blogging does wonders for your follow through. So does Pinterest. You could say that 2013 was the Year of the Quinoa and the Greek Yogurt. Looking at all of this delicious food is making me hungry! Yum!

2013 Food

A year and a half after selling our old house, we finally landed in a new one! Apartment living has its perks, like less space to keep clean and somebody else to fix things when they break, but I’m so happy to finally have a place to really call “home” (and a backyard to send the kids when they need to get rid of energy!)

backyard

In the middle of it all, I took a trip back home to celebrate my brothers wedding. It was a whirlwind trip, but I was able to meet up with several friends that I hadn’t seen since the move and spend a morning enjoying coffee at my favorite coffee place, The Mill, and spend some quality time with my dad!

Phil and Laurens Wedding

The Mill

In spite of all of the positive things that happened over the past year, there were some milestones that I wasn’t so excited to have celebrated. It has been five years since I lost my mom to cancer. It was a tough mark to gauge on the wall of life, but I try to celebrate her everyday through my children, my work and my commitment to being a good person. Also, this happened….

Car accident…but life is all about how you handle the ups AND the downs. Life takes grit, perseverance, and creativity.

I know that 2014 will bring new challenges and new adventures. I can’t wait to take them on!

Here’s to hoping that everyone had an equally eventful year, and wishing everyone the best of adventures in 2014!

Kelly

4 thoughts on “A look back at the best (and not so best) of 2013

Share your thoughts here!

