First Day of School!

Tomorrow is a big day of firsts: my first day at a new school, my son’s first day of Kindergarten, my daughter’s first day of 1st grade, and our first year of being together at school. I am so excited for this new adventure. In fact, I have been so busy preparing to start school tomorrow that I almost forgot to slow down and soak in the fact that this is MY SON’S FIRST DAY OF KINDERGARTEN!! It’s funny because I just kind of take the kids with me everywhere, including up to school. It just seems natural that my son, in particular is coming with me on the first day of school, but tonight it all kind of hit me. As we were packing up the lunches, making sure our clothes were laid out and going over our morning routine, I realized just how excited he is to finally be going to school. I know that he is going to love it. He even got a call from his Kindergarten teacher tonight! (Wasn’t that sweet of her to call and check in on all of her Kinders?) I made her a lanyard for Noah to give her as a little thank-you for already being an amazing teacher!

DIY Lanyard

As we were getting things ready tonight, my son said, “Mom, every time I see you in the hallway tomorrow, I’m going to run over and give you a big hug!” Foreseeing the potential Kindergarten chaos that could ensue, I reminded him that he would need to follow his teachers directions, so he might not be able to run over and give me a hug every time he saw me. I said that maybe he could just wave at me instead, and he seemed ok with that. So tonight, as I was tucking him into bed, he grabbed my neck in a big bear hug and whispered into my ear, “Mom, I know I can’t give you a hug every time I see you at school, so I’m going to give you a really big hug now!” My heart melted. He knows how important my job is for our family, and he knows how important it is for him to follow directions at school. He has so much figured out already. I can’t wait to see what else he can teach me this year…

 

2 thoughts on “First Day of School!

  1. Oh, how very dear. Love this post…when I first went back to work after nine years at home with our kids, I was lucky enough to get to work at my kids’ school for over a year – including the year our youngest went to kindergarten. Very special memories – thanks for bringing them back! -Amy at http://www.momgoeson.wordpress.com

  2. Hi

    My name is Kane, I’m the editor of “MyStorio” representing a number of independent writers, musicians and artists. MyStorio is a children’s publisher http://www.mystorio.com

    We like to become your guest blogger to provide book, art & music reviews twice a month. You will be helping our writers, artists and musicians to publicise their work. If you have a friend or a family member who is an artist/ writer, you’ll know it is true that the stereotypical artist are the struggling and hopeful type, and many of them would abandon their work in a few years without our support and to create valuable opportunities like this for them. Your help would mean so much for them and MyStorio.

    From our experience, our reviews will add a new dimension to an existing blog and likely to attract more followers for you. Please give it a thought, and I look forward to hearing from you.

    Best Wishes

    Kane
    MyStorio Editor
    creative@mystorio.com

Share your thoughts here!

