Crockpot Recipes: Thai-inspired chicken soup

thai ingredientsI often grab a roasted chicken for supper. I love chicken, but I hate cooking it! Of course, there are always leftovers. (Which I love!) My husband said, “no more chicken salad!”, so I came up with this easy recipe. This light soup is great for a summer evening. Not too heavy, but full of flavor! This recipe is really forgiving, so don’t be afraid to adjust and use what you have on hand.

Ingredients

  • 4 cups of warm chicken stock
  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • 2 cups of cooked chicken, cubed
  • 1 cup of sliced baby Portabella mushrooms
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 1 handful of fresh basil, chopped
  • 1-2 slices of fresh ginger, peeled
  • 1-2 cloves of fresh garlic, chopped or pressed
  • 1 cup of bow-tie pasta (or other dense pasta)
  • 1 lime
  • salt and pepper to taste

Add all ingredients EXCEPT the pasta and lime to the crock pot. Cook on low for 2-3 hours. Add the pasta about 20 minutes before you are going to eat so that it doesn’t turn into mush. Garnish with fresh lime and enjoy!

I’m sure you could add some thai chili’s if you like a little heat in your soup, but with younger children we try to stay away from anything really overwhelming. This soup was a hit with my 4 and 6-year old, and that is quite a feat!

If you make substitutions/additions, drop me a line in the comments section to tell me what worked for you! I love to hear about what other people are doing in the kitchen.

Also check out the other crock pot recipes that some of my favorite bloggers came up with:

The Late Farmer- Pulled Pork Crock Pot Style

The Vegan Bee- Roasted Garlic and Rosemary Artisan Bread in a Crock Pot

My Six Ring Circus — BBQ Pulled Pork

The Life of the Bucks– Enchilada Soup in a Crock Pot

5 thoughts on “Crockpot Recipes: Thai-inspired chicken soup

  1. This looks awesome (and easy – which is even better). I can’t cook but I can use a crockpot. Can’t wait to try this!

Share your thoughts here!

