Paper Plate Clock

Image

There are several of these floating around on Pinterest, so I’m not claiming proprietary rights to the idea, but this is our version! I have to say that it really works well for quick, cheap way to teach kids how to tell time on an analog clock.

IMG_2663

You probably have most of these supplies around the house:

red, blue, black and green permanent markers
paper plates
scissors
brad (this was actually kind of hard to find….don’t people use these anymore??)

IMG_2664

Stack the two paper plates, “pre-drill” the hole through the hands and plates with something sharp, and secure with the brad. Add the clock face and Viola! Now to add the finishing touches…

IMG_2666

Two things to note here:

1. Do as I say, not as I do, and do NOT cut through both layers! (oops.)

2. Label the bottom plate AFTER you cut so that it lines up, and then use a glue stick around the center so that the plates don’t shift. Also, I used a different color on the bottom plate, just to show the difference.

This is great to use when the kids say “how much longer??” and you can move the hands to the designated time. Anything kids can manipulate themselves adds an extra anchor for their memory to latch onto. I give this to my son to use with the clock app I have on my iPhone and a great game I found on ABCya.com. He does it on the computer and on his clock. At 4 years old, he can tell time to the hour and the half hour! Pretty cool. Let me know how you plan to use your clock!

Share your thoughts here!

