Breakfast for dinner

Update: I decided to try this recipe again this morning. I had trouble getting the eggs to set enough in the middle without over-cooking them yesterday, so I tried cooking them for just minutes at 400 degrees before pulling them out, topping them with some smoked Gouda and putting them back under the broiler for 3 minutes. The result was perfectly runny in the middle and cooked to gooey, melty, cheesy perfection on top! (I also remembered to grease the pan…)

I found this great recipe for bacon and egg cups by accident while I was looking for a recipe for breakfast muffins. These aren’t muffins exactly, although my kids lovingly referred to them as “egg and bacon cupcakes”. I’m ok with that. They looked delicious and I had to try them. I must say they were super easy to make, took about 10 minutes start to finish, and the kids ate them without complaining! I WILL be making these again.

Here is the recipe, if you can call it that:

  • 2 T. butter
  • 6 eggs
  • 6 pieces of turkey bacon
  • 6 pieces of bread (I used Whole Wheat sandwich thins)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Grease the inside of each of the muffins cups that you are going to use with a little bit of butter (I forgot this step because I had two kids trying to convince me that they were starving to death next to me, but trust me, it is worth it when you try to get your little cups out of the muffin tin!). Cut the bacon in half and lay two pieces around the inside of a each muffin tin. If you aren’t going to use all of the muffin cups, leave an empty cup in between so that they cook evenly. Using a small cup or circle cookie cutter, cut circle out of the middle of the bread and push them into the bottom of the muffin cups. So far you should have something that looks like this:

Bacon and bread

At this point, some recipes have you adding cheese on top of the bread. I didn’t, but I’ll probably try it next time. So, now you are ready to crack the eggs on top of the bread. The eggs should just sit on top of the bread. Try not to break the yolks.

Bacon, eggs and bread

Done with the hard part! Stick them in the oven and let them cook. I had them in there for about 10 minutes because when I jiggled the pan at 8 minutes, they still seemed a little too runny. When I took them out, they were pretty well set in the middle. So, if you don’t mind your eggs a little runny on top, eight minutes would probably be just about perfect for you. You really can’t screw these up. Start with six minutes, and check them every two minutes until you are happy with the result. If you want a quick and easy meal that is a little bit different and special, these are the ticket. Your kids will adore them!

The finished product…

Bacon and Eggs face

6 thoughts on “Breakfast for dinner

    • It was amazing and SIMPLE!! I do recommend buttering or spraying the pan because the clean up was a little tough. I think the turkey bacon probably sticks more than normal bacon would. Thanks for visiting my page!!

Share your thoughts here!

